Customer of the Month – Greg Wolgamott

Greg Wolgamott

How long have you been homebrewing?

I began homebrewing once I retired in 2014.

What is your favorite beer style to make?

I have to admit that I’m not a fan of the IPA as my first choice to drink. That said, I prefer to brew something in the Belgian style. I’ve brewed several, including Witbier, Dubbel, Trippel, Quad, Saison, and fruit Lambic. What I particularly like is the balance between malt sweetness and hop bitterness rather than being overpowered by one or the other, particularly when creating an ale with slight fruity, spicy, or floral aromas.

Are you a member of any brew clubs or organizations? 

I am not a member of any homebrewing organizations.

Have you won any medals or awards?

I’ve not yet taken the plunge into entering competitions simply because I want to keep homebrewing as a hobby. (although, my friends and neighbors think my brews are awesome!)

Describe your brewing system or equipment

As like everyone else, I started with the bucket and carboys and have since added several other pieces along the way. I use a Duxtop 1800W Induction Cooktop, and ferment with a Spike Brewing CF5 Conical Unitank. While carboys do a decent job, I find the conical provides several advantages, specifically the trub dump thereby eliminating a secondary transfer. Cleaning is also a breeze.

What piece of equipment or brewing process has made the most difference in your beer?

I would have to say the temperature control components for the conical have made the biggest difference in that they provide the ability to maintain or fine tune specific fermentation temperatures.

What other fermented beverages have you made?

I’ve also made several batches of wine, both from the kits as well as from freshly crushed grapes. 

I’ve made one batch of hard cider, and will likely try this again sometime in the future. 

List of any other hobbies or interests. 

Since I’ve retired I find several projects around the house to keep myself busy, but by far, the most enjoyable thing I do is the volunteer work I am associated with.. 

Mozzarella cheese making, a skill I learned from the class taken from Brew Hut!!

Is there anything else that you would like to share about yourself?

My career was Law Enforcement for close to 40 years and now I volunteer with the Aurora P.D.

I would also like to say that the help and advice I’ve received from the Brew Hut staff has been tremendous over the years. Their assistance has helped me make better beers. It is always a pleasure to come in and be greeted by name.